First Post, New Blog

This is basically a holder post, simply pronouncing, that yes, this is my blog. I’m Eilis Monahan, aka Girl Archaeologist. I’m currently a graduate student at Cornell University, where I study (you guessed it!) archaeology. I’m a field archaeologist, a shovelbum, an excavation junky. I’ve dug in 3 continents, 4 countries, and 5 states. When I’m not digging in the ground, I like playing with technology… geophysical and aerial remote sensing, GIS, and videography. I have a bunch of followers on Twitter (User: GirlArchaeo) who I try to keep informed on happenings in the world of archaeology, interspersed with totally off-topic rants, and pictures of my most recent travels.

BTW, I’m also a video-blogger. Check out my YouTube account if you get the chance.

I’m morally opposed to all of the crap archaeoogy programs on tv. And of course, I believe the solution to this is for someone to give me my own show. I actually do have training in acting for stage and television, modeling, voice, and dance. Reel and headshots available upon request.

Education:
’10 M.A. in Archaeology, Cornell University
’01 B.A. in Classical and Near Eastern Archaeology, Bryn Mawr College

Excavations and Surveys:
’09 Priniatikos-Pyrgos Project (Crete), Irish Institute for Helladic Studies
’08 Priniatikos-Pyrgos Project (Crete), Irish Institute for Helladic Studies
’08 Kalavasos and Maroni Built Environments Project (Cyprus), Cornell University and Ithaca College
’07 Elaborating Early Neolithic Cyprus, Cornell University and University of Cyprus
’07 Petra Pool and Garden Complex (Jordan), Penn State University
’06 multiple projects in CO, WY, and UT, Metcalf Archaeological Constulants (Eagle, CO) and TRC Mariah (Laramie, WY)
’05 Excavations at Idalion (Cyprus), Lycoming College
’05 multiple projects in Southeastern CT, Mashantucket Pequot Tribal Museum and Research Center Archaeological Crew

One thought on “First Post, New Blog

  1. As a female archeologist, I’m really glad I found your blog today! Keep up the great posts for all of us playing at home!

Leave a Reply

